ALEXANDER GRAHAM BELL ELEMENTARY SCHOOL Alexander Graham Bell Elementary School   Search:  
Alexander Graham Bell School

Getting Involved > Local School Council

Please join us! The Bell School Local School Council (LSC) meets the second Thursday of every month during the school year at 7:00 p.m. in the school library, with some exceptions. Please confirm with the school calendar. The meetings are open to all.

Every public school in Chicago has a LSC which is charged with three main duties:

  • to select and evaluate the school principal,
  • decide how school funds and resources are allocated,
  • and to develop and monitor the Continuous Improvement Work Plan (CIWP) for our school.

The Local School Council consists of 6 parents, 2 teachers, 1 staff member, 2 community members and the principal of the school. Council members are elected by members of their peer group on the second semester Report Card Pick-Up Day in April of every even-numbered year. Parent, community, teacher and staff representatives serve a two-year term beginning July 1 after each election and ending June 30, two years later.


The LSC encourages the participation of teachers, parents, students, and neighbors in the important decisions it makes. Meetings are generally open to audience participation, however, there is a designated time for public comment during each meeting. If you wish to address the LSC on the particular topic, please contact Ellen Rosenfeld, LSC Chair, by noon of the Thursday before the meeting. Each request should include your name and contact information along with the topic.


The LSC bulletin board across from the office has the latest information and meeting schedules, minutes of previous meetings, agenda for the upcoming meeting, contacts, the list of LSC committees, and other relevant documents. 

Click HERE​ for the latest LSC news.

2017-2018 Meeting Minutes and Supporting Documents​

2016-2017 Meeting Minutes​

2015-2016 Meeting Minutes

2014-2015 Meeting Minutes

2013-2014 Meeting Minutes

2012-2013 Meeting Minutes


Reports for all 2017-2018 meetings can be found here.​

Click on the link below to review the Bell LSC bylaws.

LSC Bylaws.pdfLSC Bylaws.pdf

LSC Members for 2016-2018 Term (click here for LSC bios​)

Ellen Rosenfeld
Tracy Boemmel Parent Vice Chair
Carol Fleishman
Michael Flomenhoft Parent
Sarah Ma Parent FOIA/OMA
Ruth Crisler Parent
Alexander Dee
Monica Drane
Kathryn Schmidt ESP
Peter Barash
Erin Kieronski Teacher
Katie Miller
Strategic Planning



Unable to display this Web Part. To troubleshoot the problem, open this Web page in a Microsoft SharePoint Foundation-compatible HTML editor such as Microsoft SharePoint Designer. If the problem persists, contact your Web server administrator.

Correlation ID:02d726f2-1aa1-47a5-9bfe-7b7ee7efe57c